ABI's Constitution was ratified at the launch of the second phase of ABI's operations, on 7 June 2012 at the meeting held in Baardskeerdersbos. At this meeting, partners agreed that ABI become a voluntary association, which any organisation or individual striving towards ABI's ideals could join. Partners also decided that projects from across the entire Overberg-area be included - as opposed to just on the Agulhas Plain, which had been the focus area during the first phase of ABI (2003-2010). 


At this meeting, partners adopted the new goal: To foster biodiversity through sustainable and integrated socio-cultural-, economic and environmental development in the Overberg.


A Committee was elected here, with members re-elected every year at ABI's AGM. 


The current ABI Committee:


Cornie Swart (Chair)
Rory Allardice
Hennis Germishuys
Tierck Hoekstra
Bulelwa Msengi
Odette Curtis
Les Richardson
Maarten Groos
Russell Metcalf


To read the full Constitution, click here




to our newsletter